The Shadow Wolf Sagas: The Whores’s War 3.34

This is my weekly serial, written raw as a writing exercise.

You can find the first post in the series here.

Last week’s post is here.

<>

Ulfgorr lunged aross the fighting pit, his long legs eating the distance in a single step. Jaws slavering, eyes wide, slashing at me with talons like wicked knives.

Giving ground too quickly would leave me in a bad place, so I stood and swung my greatsword into his wrist. The force of the blow stopped his swing and my blade cut to the bone and came back bloody.

Rather than stop or flinch like any sane being, Ulfgorr simply snarled and kept coming, swinging his other set of claws at my face. I turned and took the hit on shoulder, The talons did not cut through my Kingsmail, but they did drive the rings through the leather undercoat and into my flesh, which was uncomfortable enough.

Worse yet, I staggered, almost losing my footing as Ulfgorr swept in, that nightmare mouth seeming to devour the light above as it snapped toward my face.

My only option was to fall. Ulfgorr’s feet were less dangerous than his teeth and claw. I hit the ground and thrust my blade up with desperate strength. Ulfgorr snapping down to bite me, took the sword in the shoulder. His foul blood spilled out of the wound, flowing down the channel in the middle of the blade and over my hands.

Rather than pull away, the beast reached out with his talons, seizing my helm from either side. I kept pushing on the blade, but a chill ran down my spine as his thump claws snapped into focus inches from my eyes. I twisted my face quickly and they scored my cheek and upper lip. Ulfgorr growled and inched his thumb talons along my face toward my eyes. I twisted the blade, but he did not flinch. My boot connected with his knees and groin, but he did not budge. I thrashed as he closed. Desperate, I lashed out. This time my hobnailed boot connected with the side of his leg. To my surprise that made the beast move. He let go of my helm and grabbed the leg that I kicked him with. As he stood, I felt his weight pull off the sword. I swung it backhanded toward his leg. I felt the shock of the hit and Ulfgorr stumbled.

Pulling my foot away, I heaved myself to my feat. Ulfgorr was already upon me. I barely had time to swing, catching him in the side where my kick hurt him; the burnt side where Git’s fire had melted flesh and fur. He slammed into me, bearing me to the ground, roaring in pain and fury as my steel ripped into his flesh. It was a hideous sound, made all the worse by his charnel breath and the smell of burnt flesh.

Ulfgorr held me down and slashed a talon across my chest. My kingsmail finally gave way a little under his assault, and I felt those grim claws bit into me.

But my sword was still in his sore spot and I jerked the blade deeper into the cut. Ulfgorr threw back his head and howled. I pulled back my sword and smashed it into his face, hitting hard despite the awkward angle. Blood splashed from the beast and he fell back, freeing me. I stumbled to my feet.

Ulfgorr stood, a great cut across his face. He regarded me through hate-filled eyes and snarled showing teeth through the blood.

I lifted my blade, ready for the next clash.

<>

Leave a Reply

