The Shadow Wolf Sagas: The Whores’s War 3.12

Hello! this is my weekly serial, written raw as a writing exercise.

You can find the first post in the series here.

Last week’s post is here.

<>

“Surely you are fucking jesting, Ragnar. I don’t want you bleeding all over my shop during business hours.”

Git’s voice sounded through a hole beside the door, the brass speaking horn adding tin To his whine.

“Not at all. Murith is with me.”

“Oh. Hi Murith.”

“Hello Git,” said Murith in strained voice.

The door to Git’s shop yawned open. His lovely assistant was already waiting at the door with a towel and mop. The goblin himself stood beside her, helping Murith from my arms.

“Tsk, tsk, what happened here?”

“Arrow,” said Murith.

“It is poisoned I would wager. Check for Deathcap and White Spider Venom.”

“I will administer a cureall. What happened?”

“We were ambushed,” said Murith. “Ulfgorr.”

“Murith and I were investigating the Burning Hills carving yards. Someone is trying to frame myself and The Twins for murder and the only clues we could find lead us there. Ulfgorr and two others were lying in wait. Murith drove him off with one of the special bolts you made her.”

“Sunfire?” asked Git excitedly.

“Yep,” said Murith.

“Did you hit him directly?”

“I did.”

“And he lived?!” exclaimed Git. “That is not good Ragnar. Why was he after you?”

“I am not certain. I would have expected Ulfgorr simply to attack at night from an alley rather than set a trap. He is usually more direct. We still have no idea how he is connected to Beauchamp’s death.”

“It did look like a Nordan killed Beauchamps,” said Murith. “Is there anyone else in Myrrhn who could pull off that crazy execution?”

“I can think of over a dozen Nordan in the city who could do it. It is also quite possible the Nightblades have people who could emulate the style.”

“I think we can rule out the Assassin’s Guild, Ragnar,” said Murith. “The Twins represent continuity.”

“You mean they pay their dues.”

“Exactly,” said Murith, wincing as Git treated her wound with a substance that began to foam immediately.

“Who would work with Ulfgorr?” asked Git

“Ulfgorr works with anyone that Wolki tells him to. Wolki works with anyone who can advance his own interests.”

“What are Wolki’s interests?”

“He has many schemes. I can fathom no reason for him to involve himself in the politics of the Doxies’s Union.”

“Maybe he just wanted to kill you and make it look like it was part of the investigation,” said Git. “It would have the added benefit of throwing off the Nightblades.”

“I’m not certain that they would shed a tear if I was killed.”

“But if he killed a watch officer…”

“Oh I see. But he had no idea that Murith would be with me.”

“Let’s leave Ulfgoor and Wolki aside for now. We still need to know who would benefit from the death of Beauchamps.” said Murith.

“Diamond Silvermane, the new owner of the Pink Pearl seems to be the most likely to benefit. She is a pawn of Lily Gemarkand and is challenging The Twins.”

“Well Lily does not like you Ragnar, we know that. But would she stoop to this?”

“Let’s find out.”

<>

Leave a Reply

