The Rune 1.8

After much soul-searching, I have decided to write a few short stories, unrelated to the other works, before continuing on with the next of the Shadow Wolf Sagas, just to keep it fresh. As always, this is raw and uncut; enjoy responsibly.

The Rune 1.1

The Rune 1.2

The Rune 1.3

The Rune 1.4

The Rune 1.5

The Rune 1.6

The Rune 1.7

<>

Amy with the gun, looked down, face ashen grim. She stood still, knuckles white around the handle of her weapon, lost in thought.

“Mark them,” she said after a long moment. “They want to follow us… They must want to use us to find the others. That means that they are alive and well.”

“It also means that they know runes. I thought runes were the tools of the enemy?”

“I’ll bring up the inquisition’s hypocrisy next time we meet for tea,” said Amy, recovering some of her vivacity. “But now you understand why I met with you, Gun in hand. These people will stop at nothing to destroy us.”

“Why?”

“… I don’t know, actually. They hate runes, but they use them. Power and control I guess. There are people who can answer your questions better than I can. We need to find them, but we cannot risk leading the Inquisition to them.”

“Can we lure something through the ‘mark them’ rune?”

“I don’t think so. It seems to be keyed to the runes marking the way. It will only mark people who are following those runes.”

“Maybe we are making this too complicated.”

I bent over the “MARK THEM” rune, concentrating. I reached out to the Rune.

“Wait, what are you…” began Amy.

Then I touched the rune. I felt a rush of power, a pure jolt running through me. Then I was flying through the air. I hit the wall and everything went black.

<>

2 comments on “The Rune 1.8

  1. […] One, Rune Two, Rune Three, Rune Four, Rune Five, Rune Six, Rune Six part 2 , Rune Seven, Rune Eight, and Rune […]

Leave a Reply

