Shadow Wolf Sagas: Blade Breaker Post Mortem & Link Collection

Last week I finished my first Shadow Wolf Story. At the end of this post you can find a link to each and every post, in order, if you have not read the entire piece.

Here are a few of my thoughts on my second serial, which ended after a year of weekly episodes. I’m mostly collecting them for personal use later, but feel free to add your own comments/ask questions.

  • First Person: In my Domains of the Chosen series, I tend to hop from character to character. I do this to cover the entire scope of particularly important events, such as battles. Writing in First person is tricky for me, because I always feel compelled to show as much as possible. I think that learning the discipline of keeping to a narrow, limited viewpoint will be helpful. I also found it interesting trying to bring Ragnar to life by considering how he would view the world. In first person narratives the reader has a more intimate connection to the main character, almost as if they are sitting inside their head watching their thoughts pass by. But Ragnar isn’t a silly little man writing on a laptop at 2AM in Canada, he is Nordan Warrior who has lived, loved, died and been reborn. Much of his thoughts are alien to us, and it was interesting to drop little hints to this throughout the story.
  • Draft/Editing: My draft skills could use a lot of work still. The Shadow Wolf stuff goes up without editing, or much planning to be honest, because I am trying to raise my craft to the level where I can write a really first draft.
  • Pacing: While the Domains of the Chosen series is about politics, Blade Breaker is about a mystery unfolding into a larger plot. I am fairly pleased with the pacing, although it was hard to break up the scenes to fit into blog post sized chunks.
  • Old World/Old Problems: As I’ve said before the world I set the Shadow Wolf Sagas in is an old game world, which I use for my Fantachronica RPG. Some of those old idea need a little reworking before being recycled into stories. I should have changed the name of The Devout, not because I care about offending anyone, but rather because the name is misleading in some ways. Most people would think of religion when I name a group the Devout, when they are actually fanatical followers of an ideology based on the rule of the strong.

In all I am pretty happy with Blade Breaker. In the fall I will be gathering the chapters, editing them, and publishing them (after I publish book 5 of the Domains series). Until then enjoy the archive of The Shadow Wolf Sagas: Blade Breaker

1.1

1.2

1.3

1.4

1.5 apparently this is a ghost post… hmmm, found it

1.6

1.7

1.8

1.9

1.10

1.11

1.12

1.13

1.14

1.15

1.16

1.17

1.18

1.19

1.20

1.21

1.22

1.23

1.24

1.25

1.26

1.27

1.28

1.29

1.30

1.31

1.32

1.33

1.34

1.35

1.36

1.37

1.38

1.39

1.40

1.41

1.42

1.43

1.44

1.45

1.46

1.47

1.48

1.49

1.50

1.51

1.52

1.53

1.54

1.55

1.56

The Guide

A Post About The Devout

50 comments on “Shadow Wolf Sagas: Blade Breaker Post Mortem & Link Collection

  1. […] Here is the first Shadow Wolf Serial, Blade Breaker, collected in full […]

  2. […] Wolf is my weekly serial. The first series, Shadow Wold Sagas: Blade Breaker is collected here, and will be published later this year, when the wolftime […]

  3. […] is my weekly serial, raw and unedited. The first story arc is collected here. The first post of the Red Fangs arc can be found here. Last week’s post can be found […]

  4. […] This is my weekly serial, if you are interested in reading the first series here it is. […]

  5. […] Link to the first series, Blade Breaker, in full. […]

  6. […] Shadow wolf is my weekly serial. Here is a link to the first arc series, Blade Breaker. […]

  7. […] is my weekly serial, raw and uncut. The first arc can be found here. The first post of this arc can be found here. Last week’s post can be found […]

  8. […] is my weekly serial. Here is the first series, in full. Here is the first post of this series. Here is last week’s post, also of this […]

  9. […] is my weekly serial. You can find the first story arc here. You can find the first post of this story arc here. And if you missed last week’s post, here […]

  10. […] is my weekly serial. You can find the first story arc, in full, here. You can find the first part of the Red Fangs arc here, and last week’s post […]

  11. […] is my weekly serial. You can find the first story arc here (link). You can find the first post in this arc here (link) You can find last week’s post here […]

  12. […] is my weekly serial. You can read the first arc here (link), read the first post of this arc here (link) or read last week’s post here […]

  13. […] is my weekly serial, raw and unedited. Here is the first story arc [link], here is the first post of this arc [link], and here is last week’s post […]

  14. […] anyone else, this is my weekly serial. The first story arc can be found here. The first post of the current arc is here, and the last […]

  15. […] is my weekly serial. The first story arc can be found here. The first post of the Red Fangs arc can be found here. And the first post of this arc can be found […]

  16. […] can find the first story arc, Blade Breaker, here. You can find the first post of the Red Fangs arc here. You can find last week’s post for […]

  17. […] Shadow Wolf Sagas are my weekly serial. The first story arc of the series is called Blade Breaker . You can find the first post of this story arc, Red Fangs, here and the most recent post of this […]

  18. […] Link to the first arc of the Shadow Wolf Sagas: Blade Breaker. […]

  19. […] first arc, blade breaker, can be found here. The first post of Red Fangs is here. And last week’s post is […]

  20. […] edited) and  first person perspective. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be […]

  21. […] exercise that I engage in because it is fun. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be […]

  22. […] exercise that I engage in because it is fun. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be […]

  23. […] are a weekly writing exercise that I engage in. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be […]

  24. […] my weekly writing exercise, written raw and rough. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be […]

  25. […] my weekly writing exercise, written raw and rough. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be […]

  26. […] my weekly writing exercise, written raw and rough. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be […]

  27. […] my weekly writing exercise, written raw and rough. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be […]

  28. […] my weekly writing exercise, written raw and rough. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be […]

  29. […] my weekly writing exercise, written raw and rough. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be […]

  30. […] my weekly writing exercise, written raw and rough. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be […]

  31. […] my weekly writing exercise, written raw and rough. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be […]

  32. […] my weekly writing exercise, written raw and rough. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be […]

  33. […] my weekly writing exercise, written raw and rough. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be found […]

  34. […] my weekly writing exercise, written raw and rough. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be found […]

  35. […] my weekly writing exercise, written raw and rough. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be found […]

  36. […] my weekly writing exercise, written raw and rough. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous post in the series can […]

  37. […] my weekly writing exercise, written raw and rough. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here, or you can click the cover above. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The […]

  38. […] my weekly writing exercise, written raw and rough. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be […]

  39. […] my weekly writing exercise, written raw and rough. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be […]

  40. […] my weekly writing exercise, written raw and rough. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be […]

  41. […] my weekly writing exercise, written raw and rough. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be […]

  42. […] my weekly writing exercise, written raw and rough. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be […]

  43. […] my weekly writing exercise, written raw and rough. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be […]

  44. […] my weekly writing exercise, written raw and rough. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be […]

  45. […] my weekly writing exercise, written raw and rough. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be […]

  46. […] my weekly writing exercise, written raw and rough. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be […]

  47. […] my weekly writing exercise, written raw and rough. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be […]

  48. […] my weekly writing exercise, written raw and rough. The first story arc, Blade Breaker, can be found here. The first story of this arc, Red Fangs, can be found here. The previous week’s post can be […]

Leave a Reply

